Previous Winners


First Place

AMBER LLC (Anaerobic Membrane Bioreactor with Electrolytic Regeneration), Maryam Amouamouha, Rapid City

Second Place

Pioneer BioTech, previously known as Prairie BioTechnology LLC, (Product designed to extend shelf life of fruit; a food preservative derived from a proprietary oilseed fermentation process), Matthew Cole, Logan Wolf, Jordan Traub and Ian Schuh, Brookings.

Third Place

E Glass Industries LLC (After market fiber reinforced composite auto body panels; designs and builds molds), Alexander Ellett, Redfield

Fourth Place

Provender Technologies LLC (Modernizing cattle feeding with automated feeding system; automated, remotely accessible and data driven), Henry Wegehaupt, Dimock

Fifth Place

Thaumachron (De novo generation of patient-specific biologics that require only antigen sequences, allow for cost effective, personalized and patient specific treatments), Andrew Simpson, Rapid City

Sixth Place

Blue Sky Holdings LLC (Minimally invasive medical device to surgically stabilize rib fractures to accelerate recovery), Tung Nguyen, Ryan Oines and Steven Briggs, Sioux Falls

2022 business winner AMBER LLC


FIRST PLACE: Hydrolyst, LLC, Kirstie Gildemeister and Kelsey Fitzgerald, Rapid City

SECOND: Halogi Hot Sauce, Luke Davidson and Nick Curry, Brookings

TIED FOR THIRD: Artic Sombrero, Ron Heiman, Sioux Falls and
Sternum Protect, Angel Rollag, Amanda Rollag, Matt Bonacker and Brad Carley, Sioux Falls

FOURTH: Shield Swift, LLC, Denise Robertson and Duane Langenfeld, Rapid City



Novum Nano, LLC, Craig Bailey, Haiping Hong and Greg Christensen, Rapid City

HomeMetrics, LLC, William Trevillyan and Timothy Ford, Rapid City

Two businesses tied for third place

– Innoraymond Power Products, Will Hansen, Rapid City

– Scobi Kombucha, Carissa Hauck and Bianca Hutzler, Spearfish

A to Z Technologies, Cole Briggs and Zay Norman, Midland


Advanced Remote Sensing, Inc., David Groenveld, Hartford

Query.AI Inc., Dhiraj Sharan, Brookings

Neb Tray by Casanier, LLC, Susan Evans, Aberdeen

AmmoNyteTM Systems, LLC, Joey Brown and Jamie Hale, Rapid City

Life Excel, LLC, Marit Johnson, Rapid City


SMRTGrid, Todd Christensen and Jamie Hale, Baltic

Two businesses tied for second place

– Hutchinson Car Audio, Nick Hutchinson and Thomas Voboril, Box Elder

– Rushmore Drones, Trevor Plett and John Herrera, Rapid City

Ovo Birth Center, Lisa Groon, Harrisburg

Ebb, Alan Maas, Rapid City


NP Systems Integration, LLC, Daniel Stanton, Rapid City

Primary Manufacturing, Inc., Ladd McCluskey, Humboldt

Two businesses tied for third place

– Ease, Travis Kiefer, Aberdeen

– XpressRules, LLC, Lanny Turner and Ron Turner, Yankton

Health Workforce USA/, Krista Marx and Sandy Williams, Sioux Falls


Two businesses tied for first place

– Equinox, John Berdahl and Jamie Beckman, Sioux Falls and

– VRC Metal Systems, Robert Hrabe and Christian Widener, Rapid City

Module Innovations, Vivek Agarwal and Sachin Dubey, Rapid City

ODIN Holdings Company, Timothy Wakefield, Jr. and Blake Hoffman, Sioux Falls

Kingfisher Enterprises, Dan Ackerwold, Volga


BlueDop Medical, Patrick Kelly and Tyler Remund, Sioux Falls

Endlas, LLC, Josh Hammel, James Tomich, Brett Trotter and Tom Hammel, Rapid City

QVIDITY Telehealth, LLC, Jeremy Storm and Brian Brua, Rapid City

Ease, Travis Keifer, Aberdeen

Camp Native, David Woodbury, Spearfish


Nanofiber Separations, Craig Arnold and Dr. Todd Menkhaus, Rapid City

AgriVax, Sue Lancaster, Brookings

Global Thinking Laboratories, Rick Grann and Chris Chiller, Whitewood

Antimicrobial Materials Inc., Greg Bertsch, Sioux Falls

Baggster LLC, Chris Malo, Spearfish


Pro Mags LLC, Eric and Ron Hesla, Wakonda

J1 Insoles, Dr. Lorri Riley, Spearfish

MVA Software, Michael Moser & Mike Vetter, Sioux Falls

Syrical, Debra McCoy, Bridgewater

Bar-Tek, Gary & Rob Horrocks, Dave Mettler & Chris Bartek, Harrisburg


pharmaCline, Steven Keough, Sioux Falls

Braasch Biotech, Keith and Jeralyn Haffer, Garretson

Ruff Tuff Dog Kennels, Doug Sangl and Lyle Van Kalsbeek, Sioux Falls

SD Sports Buzz, Jon Kellar, Rapid City

1st Person History, Megan Dahle, Sioux Falls


OmegaQuant Analytics, Bill Harris, Sioux Falls

9 Clouds, Inc., John Meyer and Scott Meyer, Sioux Falls

C3 Enterprise, Bryan and Keri Couet, Sioux Falls

Copperhead Agriculture Products, Kevin & Emily Berg and Doug Terveen, Sioux Falls

Institute of Design & Technology of South Dakota, Anita Kealey, Sioux Falls


Black Events & Advertising, Kari Black, Sioux Falls

PLE Inc., Marc Bogue, Beresford

Quarq Technology, James & Mieke Meyer, Spearfish

Skyview Construction Co., Gerry Adolph, Waubay

Mid-State Growers & Produce, LaVay McKinley, Midland


CalxAqua, LLC, Mat Peabody, Rapid City

Prairie Aqua Tech, Mary Beth Fishback, Brookings

Tranzderm Solutions, Sue Lancaster, Brookings

Prairie Wind Garden Fixtures, Randy Schall, Sioux Falls

Dakota Earth, Daniel Avery, Alcester


Bale Caddie

Dakota Fire Systems

Prairie Scientific Innovations, Daniel Engebretson, Sioux Falls

DSS Manufacturing Connections, Matt Douglas, Volga

Krell Safety Products, Jordan Krell, Plankinton


Natural Farrowing Systems

Dakota Ties, Dennis Kisch and Tim Frohreich, Yankton

Art of the Hills, Deborah Casey and Kristin Donnan Standard, Hill City

Octaflex, Richard Gross, Timber Lake

Glamme^Systems, Lance Glammeier, Colton


Talario, Tim Aughenbaugh, Brookings

Bio-High Tech, Dr. Susan Liu, Sioux Falls

Tamcenan, Dr. Thomas White, Sioux Falls

High-Tech Building LLC, Ron Jupiter, Sioux Falls

Kustom Cycles, Brian Klock, Mitchell


PhotoBioMed, Dr. Kaia Kloster, Sioux Falls

Busy Bees Child Care Center, Sioux Falls (this business has closed)

WallVision-Realtronics, Scott Thompson, Rapid City

AgSense, Mel Wieting, Huron

Golden Pond Software, Sheila Hoffman, Milbank

April 2024
No event found!

Thank you to our Business Competition sponsors!

Black Hills Energy
MidAmerican Energy
Christiansen Land and Cattle, LTD.
NorthWestern Energy
Dacotah Bank
Valley Queen
First Premier Bank
Xcel Energy
Wheeler Jewelry
State of South Dakota Governor's Office of Economic Development